Emeriti

 

Thomas E. Adams- PhD. Professor Emeritus, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: Stress, reproduction; neuroendocrinology; environmental estrogens; immunocastration.

E-mail: teadams@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/adams

[Top of page]

Chris C. Calvert - Professor, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: Protein metabolism; energy metabolism; homeorhesis; systems analysis.

E-mail: cccalvert@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/calvert

[Top of page]

Ernie S. Chang - Professor, Department of Animal Science - located at Bodega Marine Lab

Research Interests: Comparative biochemistry, physiology, and larval development of invertebrates.

E-mail: eschang@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/chang

[Top of page]

Serge I. Doroshov-Professor Emeritus, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: Reproductive and developmental biology of fish; sturgeon aquaculture.

E-mail: sidoroshov@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/doroshov

[Top of page]

Holly B. Ernest - Associate Professor in Residence, Wildlife Genetics, Department of Population Health and Reproduction - School of Veterinary Medicine

Research Interests: Conservation genetics, population genetics, immunogenetics, disease susceptibility genomics, disease ecology, forensic genetics. Free-ranging species of management concern in California. Threatened and endangered species. Carnivores, wild pigs, raptors (birds of prey) and corvids (magpies, crows, and relatives). Special interests in Yellow-billed Magpies, Swainson's Hawks, Mountain Lions.

E-mail: hbernest@ucdavis.edu

Website: https://www.vgl.ucdavis.edu/wildlife/ernest.html

[Top of page]

Thomas R. Famula - Professor, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: Quantitative genetics and statistics; inheritance of disease in the dog.

E-mail: trfamula@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/famula

[Top of page]

 

Silas S. O. Hung - Professor, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: Fish feeding, nutrition, biochemistry, and physiology.

E-mail: sshung@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/hung

[Top of page]

Leslie A. Lyons- Associate Professor, Department of Population Health and Reproduction- School of Veterinary Medicine

Research Interests: Development of genetic tools for companion animals and analyzing inherited diseases in cats, dogs, horses and primates

E-mail: lalyons@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://www.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/faculty/results.cfm?fid=14650 

[Top of page]

 

Joy A. Mench - Professor, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: Animal welfare and stress; environmental enrichment for intensively managed animals; social behaviors in domestic birds.

E-mail: jamench@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/mench

[Top of page]

James R. Millam- PhD. Professor Emeritus, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: Photosexual stimulation and photorefractoriness; endocrine disruption; reproductive behavior of parrots

E-mail: jrmillam@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/millam/

[Top of page]

 

Janet Roser - Professor, Department of Animal Science

Research Interests: My present research program addresses the endocrine/paracrine/autocrine events in the mare, stallion, boar, elephant and other exotics that operate to initiate, sustain and regulate target organs. My approach is to investigate the role and mechanism of action of reproductive hormones on inducing a cellular response at the level of the pituitary, gonads and embryo. In addition, we are exploring the paracrine/autocrine system that modulates cellular responses. By understanding the control of normal reproductive events, it will then be possible to elucidate the basis of endocrine dysfunction associated with reproductive failure. .

E-mail: jfroser@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://animalscience.ucdavis.edu/faculty/roser

[Top of page]

 

 

Carolyn L. Stull - Extension Specialist: Animal Welfare, School of Veterinary Medicine

Research Interests: Physiology and behavior focused on the welfare of agricultural animals including horses, in areas such as housing, transport, environment and handling. Research in refeeding and nutritional rehabilitation programs for starved horses and other animals.

E-mail: clstull@ucdavis.edu

Website: http://www.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/vetext/animalwelfare/

[Top of page]